NGO Urges Osun Govt To Remove Sexuality Education From Basic Education Curriculum

A Non-governmental organisation, Pen Pusher has called on Osun State government and Ministry of education to remove sex education from the Basic Education Curriculum.

The organisation noted that there are some textbooks that contain sexual contents while citing the danger its pose on pupils and students to at tender age.
Recall that the then Minister of Education, Mallam Adamu Adamu in November 22 directed the Nigerian Education Research and Development Council (NERDC) to remove sex education from basic education curriculum.

However, it was learnt that it was only Kano State government has banned some of these harmful books from being used.

Speaking at a Speech Giving Contest on Thursday, February 8, 2024 tagged 'Chastity: A step towards achieving life's Goals', the Convener of Pen Publisher, Mrs Haleemah Alli-Bankole urged Governor Ademola Adeleke to followed the 2022 federal government directive to remove sexuality education from school curriculum.

She said: "Today's programme is an annual event, sometimes a speech given contest or a short story contest but this year is based on speech given contest usually organize in February before Valentine with the purpose to caution young people from being lured into sexual activities as a result of Valentine Period.

"There is a world wide curriculum, called the Comprehensive Sexuality Education Curriculum, known as the family like HIV education. After a lot of studies, it's found that the curriculum is detrimental to the morality of our young people here and should be removed.

'Although the context of the curriculum has been included to alot of textbook even on some compulsory examination text for junior school students so we were very happy when the minister of education banned the books.

" Unfortunately, the content has not been removed from these textbooks. We were also happy that the Kano government has remove the content and we hope Osun government will follow suit.".
Schools and their representative at the event
are, Joyful group of school Tajudeen Rukayat,
Eemaan Foundation College- Yusuf Shifah, Osun State Unity School, Abdulmajeed Hikmat,
Sundest Progressive College- Abolade Mary Boluwatife

Others are, Guided Souls College: Adebore Sofeeyah, Rawdatul Atfaal Quranic Model College: Abdulhakeem Aisha,
Islamic college Osogbo (ICOS): Taiwo Fatimah, Ataoja School of Science: Kolawole David, Molek Group of School: Aiyeola Iman, Attawakul Model College: Muhammad Lateefah
and Vicerous Model College: Adetona Rokeebat.